Clear All
  • nicer20
    Established Member
    • Sep 2007
    • Dublin, CA
    • BT3100

Basic Cutting board

Hello Friends,

Just finished making this basic cutting board. I am not a pro and just a beginner as many of you know. So this may not be a big achievement. But I learnt a lot making it - especially while cutting the juice grove. Now I know how easy it is to burn maple . And the importance of making a jig for routing the juice groove in future instead of just using a straight edge.

Thanks for all the help and advice I get here - priceless !!

NG
    Attached Files
  • LCHIEN
    Internet Fact Checker
    • Dec 2002
    • Katy, TX, USA.
    • BT3000 vintage 1999

Looks good! Was the board a glue-up?

Yeah, maple burns real easily. The more careful you are and the slower you go, the more burn you get when you slow down and take it easy. Kinda got to man up and do it with confidence and purpose! No dawdling. Throw caution to the wind.

Loring in Katy, TX USA
    If your only tool is a hammer, you tend to treat all problems as if they were nails.
    BT3 FAQ - https://www.sawdustzone.org/forum/di...sked-questions

Comment

• nicer20
      Established Member
      • Sep 2007
      • Dublin, CA
      • BT3100

Originally posted by LCHIEN
      Looks good! Was the board a glue-up?

Yeah, maple burns real easily. The more careful you are and the slower you go, the more burn you get when you slow down and take it easy. Kinda got to man up and do it with confidence and purpose! No dawdling. Throw caution to the wind.
      Thank you LCHIEN . Yeah because I was just using a straight edge and I don't have a plunge router, I would have to stop short of the end of the run and then switch off the router. That delay was enough to burn the maple. Also, because I didn't want to overshoot, I would have to clean the chips and then restart a few mm back in the groove and inch forward. That also meant more burns where I start.