• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • greenacres2
    • Dec 2011
    • La Porte, IN
    • Ryobi BT3000

10" Rip Blades

I've been using a Freud Diablo (40 tooth) as a do-all combination blade, but i've got a fair amount of ripping to do in 4/4 hardwoods and some 8/4 poplar so it's time to consider a separate blade for ripping. Locally, about all i can get is Irwin (regular, not marathon or Marples) or Vermont American in a 24 tooth, so i need to get something ordered so i can get on the poplar soon.

I was about set to order a Freud Glue Line Rip (30 tooth, "Industrial" label), but did a little further looking before pulling the trigger for $58 at amazon (0r $55 for the thin kerf. Other choices include:

Freud Diable 24 tooth--advantage is that i could buy 2 for a few dollars more.

Forrest 20 tooth--pure rip blade at $80. I'm a hobbyist, but i'm thinking that may be the long-term value if i take care of it.

Forrest 30 tooth--at a tick over $100, reviews i saw a few sites were favorable as a rip blade, but maybe with the ability to do a civilized cross-cut.

Most of my miters and cross-cuts in lumber are done either on the RAS or miter saw. I don't do much sheet goods, but have few good 50-60 tooth blades on hand, and that's worth a blade change. If i were to spring for Forrest 30 might it be decent enough for a rare cross-cut and free the Freud 40 to go to the RAS to replace the no-name 50 toother that's on there now? Anybody here try the Forrest 30 tooth and willing to share thoughts??

Any input would be appreciated!! Thanks.
    earl
  • pelligrini
    Veteran Member
    • Apr 2007
    • Fort Worth, TX
    • Craftsman 21829

I have a Forrest 30T and a 40T WWII, both thin kerf. The 30T does rip a lot better than the 40, but it still doesn't go as smoothly an my 24T Oshlun I got from Holbren. If I have a lot of ripping to do I'll put the 24T on.