• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • GaryA
    Established Member
    • Dec 2004
    • Tampa, FL, USA.

Big fan or AC?

Here in Florida, the temperature is already starting to heat up quite a bit in the shop. I've toyed with the idea for a while about putting a portable AC unit or mini split in my small 11x21 shop (I dont do this for a living). The primary reason is comfort, secondary is humudity control. I find myself usually opening the overhead door anyways, so I'm wondering if I should just go with some type of big turbo fan (any recommendations here?) that would move a lot of air. That wouldnt solve the humidity issue when its closed down, but would be a cheaper alternative to cooling it - which I guess is a moot point anyways if the door is open. Thinking out loud here more than anything, but wondering if any suggestions out there on AC vs fan....or any recommendations on the fan side?

Thanks
    Gary
  • gjat
    • Nov 2005
    • Valrico (Tampa), Florida.
    • BT3100

I have 1/3 of a 3 car garage. I used a fan for years. I tried insulating the garage, putting in a ceiling fan, a large attic fan, etc. Finally I closed it in and use 2 small window units. It's so much better.

I don't do it for a living and not every weekend, but it's close to being my man-cave. I have two small units that will cool it off fast, then I can turn one off to maintain the cool once it gets to evening. A lot depends upon how hot your garage gets, which direction it faces, and what time of the day you'd use it the most.

Comment

• Stytooner
      Roll Tide RIP Lee
      • Dec 2002
      • Robertsdale, AL, USA.
      • BT3100

If you ever do decide to get an AC on down the road, you will kick yourself for not getting one sooner.
      AC all the way. There are times when I just use a fan, but when the humidity is high, the AC is on.
      Lee

Comment

• LCHIEN
        Internet Fact Checker
        • Dec 2002
        • Katy, TX, USA.
        • BT3000 vintage 1999