• Show
Clear All
  • billme
    Forum Newbie
    • Jan 2008
    • Just outside Vancouver, BC

Projects for a beginner

Hello Gang,

I have been lurking for quite a while, and have found the group quite helpful and friendly.

I was hoping to get some ideas from you fine folks.

I am a bookeeper by trade. I have done some home repairs, soldering pipes, framing walls for the treehouse, run electrical wire, and install outlets etc. I want to get into some "fun" woodwork, rather than "patching up the house" woodwork.
    I have a sears/bt, I have drawn the red line I have never used a table saw before I have used my 10" mitre saw frequently, and the circular saw. I have no idea what to do with my router, saw a good deal, bought it, now await a project to use it. I also own a jig saw, drill press, biscuit joiner, and numeous drills. (all mid grade stuff)
    I would appreciate some "easy to do" ideas to start. We do need an entertainment unit, to hold the tv and dvd player etc.

thank you,
  • LCHIEN
    Internet Fact Checker
    • Dec 2002
    • Katy, TX, USA.
    • BT3000 vintage 1999

I find small projects rewarding and easy to do and light on the wood requirements if you want to try more expensive woods and or take risks.

For example, for your home ent. system, do you need a box to hold the remotes? You can go simple to complex and go crazy on inlays and router work.

A lot of items you can mke or buy. Make things you can't buy as you want with features and details all your own, or make things that are unusual or don't otherwise even exist.
    Last edited by LCHIEN; 03-25-2010, 02:34 PM.
    Loring in Katy, TX USA
    If your only tool is a hammer, you tend to treat all problems as if they were nails.
    BT3 FAQ - https://www.sawdustzone.org/forum/di...sked-questions

Comment

• Cubsfan
      Established Member
      • Jan 2004
      • CO.