X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • steve_ma
    Forum Newbie
    • Aug 2005

First DADO for BT3100

I want cut dados for some cabinets I am building. I have been using the router, but I borrow a 6" craftsman dado for my table saw and they seemed to go faster. Why would I buy a 8" vs a 6" ? What does the larger size do?

I see like the Freud SD206 and the Oshlum 6" (Holbren). I would assume either of these is OK but I have little experience with dado blades. Cutting lots of 3/4 dados on the router is loud and messy.

Any input appreciated. Thanks
  • eezlock
    • Feb 2006
    • Charlotte,N.C.
    • BT3100

first dado for BT3100

It sure works easier doesn't it? And remember a stacked dado usually makes a better looking, smooth bottomed dado, where a wobble dad won't!

Comment

• LCHIEN
      Internet Fact Checker
      • Dec 2002
      • Katy, TX, USA.
      • BT3000 vintage 1999

do a 6" stack dado for the BT3's.

All the dope is in my BT3 faq (see below)
      Loring in Katy, TX USA
      If your only tool is a hammer, you tend to treat all problems as if they were nails.
      BT3 FAQ - https://www.sawdustzone.org/forum/di...sked-questions

Comment

• Uncle Cracker
        The Full Monte
        • May 2007
        • Sunshine State
        • BT3000

What Loring said...

There are clearance problems for an 8" stack in the BT's. Unless you need a slot that is ridiculously deep, there is no advantage to an 8" dado set.

Comment

• rberrybabylon
          Forum Newbie
          • Jul 2007

Just to add to the consensus.

I have the Freud 8 in. set and, while it works fine, I feel it's overkill and wish I'd bought the 6 in. set instead. The 6 in. set should handle practically any "normal" jobs.

Comment

• Thalermade
            • Dec 2002
            • Ohio
            • BT 3000

The Freud 6 inch dado works great, usually costs less too.

Here is a little CD holder project I did using mine.

Comment

• dbhost
              Slow and steady
              • Apr 2008