This topic is closed.
X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • scoutmasterdave

$200 table saws even worth buying?

I am an absolute newbie with regards to woodworking; my experience mainly consists of building subwoofer boxes for car audio. I've used my father's table saw for past projects, which seems to be a 15-year-old brother of the Ridgid TS3650, and it has worked very well for what I have needed (basic ripping, dido cuts, angle cuts).

While I'd love to be able to spend $500 on a table saw right now, it's just not in the cards. There are a few budget saws out there for $200-250, including the Ryobi BTS21, the Hitachi C10FR and C10RA3, the JET 708315LSB, etc.

Are any of these saws worth buying, or will I be too disappointed when I get further into the hobby?
  • LCHIEN
    Internet Fact Checker
    • Dec 2002
    • Katy, TX, USA.
    • BT3000 vintage 1999

I found them disappointing.
    A few years back I bought one of the benchtop saws around $200 and it was rough, the thing vibrated badly, the top too small and miter gage poor, and in general hard to do accurate work on. I moved up to a BT3000 and the difference was like night and day... any 500 dollar saw will probably way outperform the ones you're thinking of.
    Loring in Katy, TX USA
    If your only tool is a hammer, you tend to treat all problems as if they were nails.
    BT3 FAQ - https://www.sawdustzone.org/forum/di...sked-questions

Comment

• Tom Hintz
      • Feb 2004
      • Concord, NC, USA.

One of the really twisted things about woodworking is that the newest woodworkers usually wind up with the most inaccurrate machines and tools which makes the learning process way more difficult and far more dangerous than need be.