Clear All
  • Roger on the Rock
    Forum Newbie
    • Apr 2006
    • St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
    • BT-3100

Craftsman Circular Saw

Hey Everyone;

My Dad recently gave me some of his old tools. He wasn't a woodworker by any means, but one of the items was this Craftsman 315.218250. It's about 17 years old and a hefty big beast, but hasn't been used much. Compared to the unit's I've seen at HD & Kent, it's a tank.

As a starting out woodworker I was going to get a good CS for sheet stock before it goes on my soon to be mine, BT 3100. I'm wondering if this saw with a good blade would be OK for what I'm intending to use it for. I've heard that Craftsman stuff is good, depending on the vintage, and would appreciate any opinions/experience I can get here. (Before I go out and spend money on a blade and ruin my first sheet of stock, just to find out this model was/is a lemon.)

Thanks in advance.
    Attached Files
  • LCHIEN
    Internet Fact Checker
    • Dec 2002
    • Katy, TX, USA.
    • BT3000 vintage 1999

Well, don't really know much about that saw, but 7-1/4" blades are usually real cheap and you're going to need one anyway, so buy a blade and try it on some scrap wood.

It's as good as it works for you.
    Loring in Katy, TX USA
    If your only tool is a hammer, you tend to treat all problems as if they were nails.
    BT3 FAQ - https://www.sawdustzone.org/forum/di...sked-questions

Comment

• WayneJ
      • Jan 2004
      • Elmwood Park, New Jersey, USA.

If it runs its good for something. I have two old ones that both work. One has a rip blade that is used for pressure treated wood and the other has a masonary blade that I used for cutting concrete block. They both have a life left, when they die, see ya.
      Wayne
      Wayne J

Comment

• cwsmith
        Veteran Member
        • Dec 2005
        • NY Southern Tier, USA.
        • BT3100-1