• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • killin5
    Forum Newbie
    • Feb 2006
    • Lake City, FL.

Nailer Recommendation

I am in the middle of a few home renovation projects. One that I see coming up quickly is the installation of Chair rail. This of course may lead to new baseboards and some Crown Molding. I have never been a fan of doing molding work mostly because of nailing through the metal edging on the sheetrock corners. I have an air compressor that I can borrow. And if that doesn’t work out, I might be able to play the angles and pick one up. So I’m looking for a nail gun. We just moved, so we are in budget mode. I have never used a nail gun before. I need some recommendations.

These are the ones I’m looking at

Porter Cable BN125A Factory Reconditioned 18 Gauge 5/8" to 1-1/4" Brad Nailer Kit $44.99
    • Uses standard 18 gauge brads from 5/8" to 1-1/4" long
    • Special hardened driver blade
    • Tool-free jam release mechanism designed not to block line of sight
    • Strong & light weight die-cast aluminum body
    • Hard coat anodized magazine with visual reload indicator
    • Contact safety located behind the driver guide for driving brads in tight spaces
    • Tool-free depth-of-drive adjustment for exact setting of nail head
    • Removable rubber nose cushion and directional tool-free exhaust port
    • Magazine capacity: 100 brads. Operating pressure: 70-120 psi. Firing modes: Sequential fire.
    • Includes: Nailer, 1/4" male quick plug with dust cover, rugged carrying case, box of 1000 brads, oil and operating manual

http://www.toolking.com/productinfo.aspx?productid=285

Grizzly H5527 18 Gauge Brad Nailer Kit $29.95

http://www.grizzly.com/products/H5527
    • 18 ga. Nailer accepts up to 100 5/8" - 2" brads, operates on 70-110 PSI, features a 360 degree adjustable exhaust and only weights 3.5 lbs.

Grizzly H6332 Air Nailer $23.25

http://www.grizzly.com/products/H6332