• Show
Clear All
  • Tom Clark
    Forum Newbie
    • Jul 2007
    • Deming, NM
    • Powermatic 66 w/48" sliding table

Building Easy Shop Cabinets

On my recent shop tour thread there were a couple of requests for more detail on building some of the shop cabinets that fill my shop. I finally have a new computer and access to some photos again, so here goes. Apologies if this is too lengthy…
    I started learning cabinet making 20 years ago. Like everyone else, I bought a book on cabinet making. After reading the book and seeing how the writer went about building his designs, I decided it was way too complicated for me, and started to simplifying the process to better suit my tastes. I just wanted strong, simple shop cabinets, ones that could be sketched out and built in a weekend.
    My shop is filled with projects that mostly were started on Friday evening after work, and put into use that Sunday. My ideas will not suit everyone, so keep in mind that you can change anything you like. I use plywood for face frames for shop cabinets. For office furniture and other house projects solid oak is used for the face frames.
    I don’t use mdf for construction, but let’s not start a war here. If you like it, fine. I just think it's too heavy, too weak, I can’t lift a sheet easily, I hate the dust, and don’t like the way it holds fasteners. I started out building cabinets out of 3/4” BC plywood, and ended up building every project out of oak ply. I just like the lack of voids, the looks, and the way it takes a simple finish. It also seems to take fasteners well. I do occasionally use mdf for workbench tops if it is doubled two layers thick, like shown in the photos below.