• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • ladywood
    Handtools only
    • Apr 2022
    • NC

Bloodwood Handrails

I've got some bloodwood handrails going around a deck that gets a lot of sun. A couple of people have been out here to seal them, but I'm convinced they are using the wrong product because they eventually look like this again. Any ideas on how to refinish and get this handrail looking good again? I have never worked with bloodwood before, and only know that it is an oily wood.
  • leehljp
    Just me
    • Dec 2002
    • Tunica, MS
    • BT3000/3100

From personal observation and forum members of another forum (pen turning) I have come to the conclusion that there are two basic varieties of wood called bloodwood. I started pen turning in 2004, and I was living in Japan, and lived near a hobby store chain that had many kinds of hardwoods from around the world (in small pieces used for hobby work). Bloodwood was one. Upon returning to the states for a few months, I found a bloodwood board in the Memphis area that was 6 ft long, 3/4 inch thick and 8 inches wide, and I purchased it.

That board was / still is - a beautiful almost bright maroon-ish red. I have used about 1/3 of it over the years in pens and the rest is still a beautiful maroon-ish red. It is kept inside a storage area with little light. The pens that I have made with the bloodwood are still bright red. THAT SAID, On the pen forum, in the past 4 to 5 years, different ones have made pens from what they say is "bloodwood", and on half the posts, I would ask if it were bloodwood. The replies were that it was sold to them as bloodwood, but either each one had "not so good" lighting for the photographs or each was a different species of bloodwood from what I purchased 17 years ago. The ones from the past 5 years or so seem to be washed out or slightly orangish bloodwood, unlike what I have and saw in others pens 10 and 15 years ago.