• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • kgworkman
    Forum Newbie
    • Jan 2006
    • Colfax, WA, USA.

What's that you say... More clamps?

Well, it has certainly been a night of learning.

My current "project" is to build myself a router table top. "Why not buy one," you say? But, what would I learn from that?

So tonight, with my two pieces of 3/4" ply, set out to marry these two independant portions of lumber. "This is wonderful," I think to myself... "I am building!" "Using God's creations to ceate something useful and beautiful."

Soon enough, however, doubt krept in... "Do I have enough clamps?" "Of course you do! You have a master's degree in ELECTRICAL Engineering, that's basically the same as wood anyway."

So off I go, glue, glue, glue... clamp, clamp, clamp... Hmmmm, those edges aren't exactly touching... "More clamps!" I shout to the attending nurse. My mind responds with a weak, "There are no more clamps..."

Well, but I'm an engineer... I can make due. If there are no clamps, we'll use weight! Gravity will be our clamp!

What is heavy? Hmmm (by this time my education is kicking in)... Iron is heavy! Yes, yes, I have some iron, what else? Food is heavy! And books, books are heavy! So I gather my resources...

My last house was way out in the country with some outbuildings. While rummaging around out there one day I came across an old anvil nailed to a stump. I couldn't just leave it there could I? Add to my list 1 anvil (140lbs)

I'm mormon. That means I believe in being prepared in the case of emergency or hardship, which in turn means I believe in having a solid supply of food on hand. Add to my list 200lbs wheat, 25lbs rice, 25lbs pintos, 25 lbs sugar, 25lbs rolled oats, 20lbs random legumes.

I mentioned I have a masters in engineering. Add to my list 100lbs useless text books.

So, you pile this all on your router tabletop-in-the-making and what do you get?

Click image for larger version

Name:	Feb 2006 002.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	61.6 KB
ID:	788394