• Show
Clear All
  • ewl
    Forum Newbie
    • Jul 2005
    • Lake Ridge, VA, USA.

BT3 good for a newbie?

Hi,
    I'm a woodworking newbie, about to undertake a laminate flooring project in our kitchen. I'm told that a table saw would be best for this job, but not sure what to get-- something real cheap and just enough to get it done, or something a little better that might last for a while should I really "like" woodworking and decide to take on some other projects down the road (a good possibility). I am a little leary of getting something so cheap that it does a lousy job. I've seen the posts here about the BT3000/3100. Would that be a good choice-- newbie-friendly, but room to grow? Thanks for any advice!
  • don_hart
    Veteran Member
    • May 2003
    • Ledayrd, CT, USA.

Yes the BT3 would definitely fit the bill. It is a great saw that is very accurate and has features only found on other saws that are much more exspensive. Also if you decide later that you do not want to get into wood working you will find it pretty easy to sell the saw and get most of your money back.

Don Hart

You live and learn. At any rate you live.

www.hartwoodcrafts.com

Comment

• bfrikken
      • Apr 2005
      • Michigan, USA.
      • BT-3100

I recently finished my basement using laminate flooring.

Here are some pics of how it looks now. I have the bt3100 and love it. I have to admit though, the only tool I used was a compound miter saw and an 18V Circular saw.

Comment

• alebrewer

Nice laminate flooring job! I'm finishing my basement and plan to put down laminate flooring as well. Hopefully mine will turn out nice as well.