• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Stevedg1011
    Handtools only
    • Dec 2016

Thinking of buying a used Craftsman 315.218290

Hello all,

I am a novice woodworker and interested in purchasing my first table saw. I have been looking at the $300-$500 range Dewalt/Bosch/Delta jobsite saws at the big boxes. But I came across a used 21829 on craigslist near me. Based on the pics, it seems to be in very good shape and owner says it has been barely used. Obviously I will be taking a closer look before buying, but he is willing to let it go for $250 with the rolling stand included. I was not familiar with this model until today and have been reading up on as much as possible, even breezing through most of the FAQ page.

So, first of all, thanks to everyone here for all the great info on this site!

This seems like a versatile TS despite the few quirks that some may or may not like. As I said, I am a newbie, I do have some experience in carpentry, but mostly framing. I am looking to do more furniture work, but need a good starter saw.

Is this a good buy? And are there any really major things to look out for when I go to look at it?

Thanks in advance for the help!
  • LCHIEN
    Internet Fact Checker
    • Dec 2002
    • Katy, TX, USA.
    • BT3000 vintage 1999

Hi Welcome to the forum. I have approved your post.
    We used to be largely based on the BT3000/Sears 21829 platform but many of us have gone on their different ways. as the BT3000 platform has not been made in maybe 8 or 10 years now?
    Of course many of have used it and know some of its tricks.
    I still use the BT3000 ca. 1999 as my saw- used it this morning.
    I'm pretty knowledgable as I put together the BT3 FAQ which you said you downloaded; I gleaned the info from 10-15 years of input mostly from this forum and its predecessor in Ryobi, and of course personal experience.

If you read the FAQ, you know its a pretty close cousin with some differences.