X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • TheDude
    Handtools only
    • Oct 2011

BT3000 vs 3100

I'm new to this, but decided on a used BT3x saw. I've found several 3000's for between two and three hundred dollars depending on extra's etc. I did find an almost brand new 3100 in AZ for $150. No extra's but basically a brand new saw. Is there anything about the 3000 that increases it's value over the 3100?
    The Dude
  • Black wallnut
    cycling to health
    • Jan 2003
    • Ellensburg, Wa, USA.
    • BT3k 1999

Not really. The differences other than cosmetic that matter favor the BT3100. Most of the extras are not worth much IMHO except for the wide table kit and the Accessory table rear clamp which is part of the router and jigsaw kit. The long miter/ rip fence might also come in handy. For most of its retail life the bt3100 came with a users kit that contained lots of add-on's.
    Donate to my Tour de Cure

marK in WA and Ryobi Fanatic Association State President ©

Head servant of the forum

©

Comment

• LCHIEN
      Internet Fact Checker
      • Dec 2002
      • Katy, TX, USA.
      • BT3000 vintage 1999

My FAQ (see sig line ) explaines in detail the differences.
      I personally like the BT3000 looks better but the BT3100 is mechanically improved in some respects, the most important being the improved shim retention.

Accessories are also discussed extensively in the FAQ. Valuable ones include the wide table kit and legs, outfeed table, microadjuster, router mounting kit. Extra aux table or SMT are useful, too.

Useless accessories - wheel kit, sawdust bag,

Miter clamp, miter slots, are a more personal taste as to usefullness.
      Loring in Katy, TX USA
      If your only tool is a hammer, you tend to treat all problems as if they were nails.
      BT3 FAQ - https://www.sawdustzone.org/forum/di...sked-questions

Comment

• dbhost
        Slow and steady
        • Apr 2008
        • League City, Texas
        • Ryobi BT3100