• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • bongbong
    Forum Newbie
    • Feb 2011

motor too weak?

Hi everyone!

Newbie here with a CL-purchased BT3000 of unknown age. It's got a 15A motor, but really bogs down in trying to rip a 2x4. (Have to rip a wedge to build-up window sills to level.) I've done a search on this site and learned quite a lot from previous discussions, so here's what I can eliminate:

-it's not a low power feed: it's plugged directly (no extension cord) into outlet of 20A circuit which is wired directly to bottom of the breaker box (~2' of conduit away)

-using a very slow feed rate

-suitable blade: using a 28-tooth carbide (seems sharp enough)

-fence alignment is true

-I'm test ripping an untreated, kiln-dried pine stud from The Borg, not hardwood or anything. (Will eventually use redwood.)

So what gives? Shouldn't this saw be up to the task of ripping a 2x4? My humble (now sold to make room for the BT) old Skill TS would rip through 10' sections of 4x4's with no problem, with a 13A motor. Would replacing the brushes help?

There happens to be 2 BT's on CL now and I'm considering buying and swapping motors or maybe whole saws (and parting the other). Is it worth it, or do I need to look for other makes/models to get this job done? Not my preference as I specifically looked for a BT to build cabinets--love the rip capacity. Sorry for the long first post, but thanks in advance for any input you can give.
  • LCHIEN
    Internet Fact Checker
    • Dec 2002
    • Katy, TX, USA.
    • BT3000 vintage 1999

A bT3000 should have plenty of power to rip one 2x4 into to 2x2, even with a 40-T blade.. DOne it many times.

I say the acid test of power margin is how much speed difference there is between going too slow and burning the wood and going as fast as you can without bogging down the motor.