• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Duranged2001
    Forum Newbie
    • May 2010
    • Craftsman 21829

Just bought the Craftsman 21829 Last Night

I got in on the currently circulating deal on the Sears saw.

I hope no one will hold it against me.

I am a complete beginner. I have a question about setting up the front and rear rails. Is there a particular position these rails should be set? I know that for ripping there is that 2" setup step. Beyond that, is there any other position these rails should be in for other operations, or is it unimportant?

I watched the setup videos on YouTube for the Ryobi, but I am just having trouble understanding the different index marks on the front rail.

I'm sure this is the first of many questions I will have. I hope this forum is full of patient folks.

Thanks,
    David
  • sparkeyjames
    Veteran Member
    • Jan 2007
    • Redford MI.
    • Craftsman 21829

I have the SMT (sliding miter table) all the way to the left with a dual miter slot table just to it's right. The rails are pulled all the way to the right with just a small amount of slop space for the SMT. The nice part about this saw is that you can remove the SMT. Then slide the rails to the left if need be. Quit a lot of folks set theirs up so the zero mark on the scale on the front rail is at the saw blade teeth right edge. It is the method set forth in the manual. This type of thing however can cause problems if you go by the scale and have saw blades with varying kerf sizes. Always measure before cutting from the blade tooth edge to the rip fence (measure twice cut once).

Also send user LCHIEN your email address and he will send you a rather lengthy PDF file on setting up of and the care and feeding of your new saw.
    Last edited by sparkeyjames; 05-25-2010, 04:17 PM.

Comment

• pelligrini
      Veteran Member
      • Apr 2007
      • Fort Worth, TX
      • Craftsman 21829

Congratulations, you should really be happy with the deal you got.