X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • scott710
    Forum Newbie
    • Mar 2009

how come no more bt3100s?

i'm new to this tool obviously. but why is it no longer offered retail? legal problems?
  • vaking
    Veteran Member
    • Apr 2005
    • Montclair, NJ, USA.
    • Ryobi BT3100-1

I think the market for this saw is too small for good profits. BT3X is a light-duty saw with precision that can rival high-end cabinetmaker's equipment costing thousands. It has less power than contractor's saw so it should not be used for rough dimensional lumber. It also is somewhat delicate for professional use, it needs care to stay accurate. In all - it is a tool for a weekend warrior wtih aspirations of a cabinetmaker. People who use it do not charge by the hour and do not want to pay couple grand for one tool. That means profit margin on such saw is small and there are not that many ambitious amateurs who would buy it. Manufacturer discontinued the original version, the only one left is Craftsman variant and it is now being sold as job-site saw (folding stand on wheels).
    Alex V

Comment

• leehljp
      Just me
      • Dec 2002
      • Tunica, MS
      • BT3000/3100

What Alex said. Well done.

The BT3 was originally designed and made as a transportable contractors saw with precision. However, it did not hold up well to being bounced around in the back of a pickup when transported from site to site. Unexpectedly for the Ryobi engineers, did find favor with home users and small workshop users who wanted or needed precision without the cost of cabinet makers saws.
      Hank Lee

Experience is what you get when you don't get what you wanted!

Comment

• LCHIEN
        Internet Fact Checker
        • Dec 2002
        • Katy, TX, USA.
        • BT3000 vintage 1999

No Ryobi insider has ever told the true story.