• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • davidtu
    • Apr 2006
    • Seattle, WA
    • BT3100

Rockler wood prices good?

Rockler's summer sale also includes 25% off wood. I've never bought any wood more exotic than Douglas Fir. As I don't have a jointer yet, I am not able to buy rough stock (right?) so I would have to (I presume) use something like what Rockler offers.

That said, I am wondering how their wood prices compare to similar stock elsewhere? i.e. does the 25% off make it something I should jump at?

I am a newbie... I am anticipating making some furniture in the next couple of months and wonder if I should grab the wood now and design / decide on what to do with it later?

Thanks!
    Never met a bargain I didn't like.
  • LCHIEN
    Internet Fact Checker
    • Dec 2002
    • Katy, TX, USA.
    • BT3000 vintage 1999

My impression is that the Woodcraft and Rockler stores have wood at somewhat expensive prices relative to the lumberyards.
    They tend to have a much wider selection than the box stores (Lowes and HD - usually oak, cedar and poplar) but its often limited in widths and thcknesses. usually S2S rather than rough cut, so you can see the grain better.

MY guess is somewhere around 25% off and 50% off you start to get more competitive.
    Loring in Katy, TX USA
    If your only tool is a hammer, you tend to treat all problems as if they were nails.
    BT3 FAQ - https://www.sawdustzone.org/forum/di...sked-questions

Comment

• gsmittle
      Veteran Member
      • Aug 2004
      • St. Louis, MO, USA.
      • BT 3100

My local Rockler just finished a 50% off all lumber sale, and that brought the price of their poplar in line with the BORG. Rockler had a better selection of wider boards, though. Picked up some to make a bench for the "free" piano.

I'm still searching for a lumberyard in St. Louis that doesn't cost a couple of body parts for decent hardwood.
      g.
      Smit

"Be excellent to each other."
      Bill & Ted

Comment

• MBG