• Show
Clear All
  • atgcpaul
    Veteran Member
    • Aug 2003
    • Maryland
    • Grizzly 1023SLX

Continuous inkjet refill systems

My SIL in Thailand has this external reservoir tank on her inkjet printer. She can fill her own ink and it tricks the printer into thinking it's using the printer branded cartridge. I see that it's available in the US. Kinda' wish now I looked for one over there.

http://123refills.net/cic/product.ph...FTQF7Aod1iUAsQ

Anyway, we only have a B&W laser printer, but it would be nice to do color at home. The print quality on her's (an Epson all-in-one) was good. Knowing my girls, I know they'd like it.

Anyone have long term experience with one of these? I owned a photo inkjet about 15 years ago but almost bankrupted myself with the ink.
  • JoeyGee
    Veteran Member
    • Nov 2005
    • Sylvania, OH, USA.
    • BT3100-1

I have no experience with that device, but I have seen many approaches through the years aimed at saving money on ink. None of the ones I have seen are with it. Ink is a racket. They sell cheap printers just to hook you on expensive ink. For awhile I would just buy a printer, use the ink that came with it and just junk the whole thing when it ran out.

How long has your SIL been using that device? If it has a long term track record, it might be worth it. I'm skeptical, though.

If it were me, if bite the bullet, buy a color laser printer and use color only when you need to. Toner won't dry out. Of course, I despise all printing. This is the digital age. It's time to do away with printing.
    Joe

Comment

• MBG
      • Apr 2003
      • Chicago, Illinois.
      • Craftsman 21829

I've messed with refilling my cartridges for years. I buy Canon printers because they were easiest to refill (although they are great printers too). I bought bulk ink and a chip resetter but now online sources like Meritline have cartridges with new chips for under $1 at times making it more attractive than filling myself.