• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • newbie2wood
    Established Member
    • Apr 2004
    • NJ, USA.

Question about Monitor for Security System

I posted the following problem on a security forum but have not gotten any response:

I have an old Samsung SyncMaster 152N monitor that I want to connect to a new security DVR, but I'm getting a black screen with the message "video mode not supported" and the monitor is not allowing me to play with any settings. The monitor is connected to the DVR by a VGA cable. When I connect the DVR to my newer PC monitor using the same cable, it works fine.

FYI, the DVR has no brand name and was purchased off Ebay. The spec indicates that it supports VGA output up to 1440 x 900.

Is there any way to adjust the DVR or the old monitor to make it work?
  • LCHIEN
    Internet Fact Checker
    • Dec 2002
    • Katy, TX, USA.
    • BT3000 vintage 1999

not supported means just that, it won't work.

Check your DVR to see if it has a lower resolution output mode. (not likely). Check your DVR to see what resolution it requires of the monitor.

you should be able to pick up newer used CRT monitors at Goodwill or someplaces for a song. People are throwing out perfectly good ones. Bring your DVR to test compatibility B4 you buy.
    Last edited by LCHIEN; 06-10-2014, 10:50 PM.
    Loring in Katy, TX USA
    If your only tool is a hammer, you tend to treat all problems as if they were nails.
    BT3 FAQ - https://www.sawdustzone.org/forum/di...sked-questions

Comment

• gerti
      Veteran Member
      • Dec 2003
      • Minnetonka, MN, USA.
      • BT3100 "Frankensaw"

Originally posted by newbie2wood
      1440 x 900
      That's you problem: according to the web your SyncMaster 152N only supports 1024x768. So unless you have a way to reduce the resolution of the DVR (not very likely) that monitor will not work out for this.

Comment

• dbhost
        Slow and steady
        • Apr 2008
        • League City, Texas
        • Ryobi BT3100