• Show
Clear All
  • JoeyGee
    Veteran Member
    • Nov 2005
    • Sylvania, OH, USA.
    • BT3100-1

What's Wrong with Vista?

I'm not trying to start a war, or defend Microsoft, but after working with Vista for a few weeks now (never having touched it before--I still support XP at work, and don't "play" with PC's at home much) I have had no issues, and fail to see what all the negative comments are about.

As a disclaimer, I am an IT Pro, and have worked on every MS OS since Win 3.0. So far, Vista is nowhere near as bad as ME or BOB . I have fixed darn near every Window issue known to man--well probably not, but there have been a couple .

Also, to be fair, I started fresh with SP1, so maybe that's it. I am just interested in specifically what is bad (and I am NOT saying it may not turn on me yet). Just curious. Please don't start a generic "Windows and Micro$oft is just bad" I am interested in specific opinions on Vista.

Again, I am NOT a MS apologist, defender or employee, so please don't flame me...
    Joe
  • Alex Franke
    Veteran Member
    • Feb 2007
    • Chapel Hill, NC
    • Ryobi BT3100

I'm on Vista here at home, too. I turned off UAC because it was annoying and it caused problems with some of the applications I've written that use COM. Aside form the occasional unexplained crash (which happened in XP, too) I haven't had any problems at all.

...except I keep forgetting to use the Windows key to tab through the apps instead of alt. :P

We're still on XP at work.
    online at http://www.theFrankes.com
    while ( !( succeed = try() ) ) ;
    "Life is short, Art long, Occasion sudden and dangerous, Experience deceitful, and Judgment difficult." -Hippocrates

Comment

• Russianwolf
      Veteran Member
      • Jan 2004
      • Martinsburg, WV, USA.
      • One of them there Toy saws