Clear All
  • gerti
    Veteran Member
    • Dec 2003
    • Minnetonka, MN, USA.
    • BT3100 "Frankensaw"

Casting in black epoxy?

Hi All,

I have a project in mind where I would cast items into black epoxy and turn the result. There would be quite large gaps (approximately 50% would be epoxy), and I'd like the epoxy to be black.

I have not much experience with epoxy beyond 5 minute epoxy for glueing.

What type of epoxy can you recommend that is not too expensive, and can be cut and polished to a high gloss? How can the epoxy be colored to be deep black? Or should I look at other materials, and if so what would those be?

Thanks

Gerd
  • chopnhack
    Veteran Member
    • Oct 2006
    • Florida
    • Ryobi BT3100

i have no turning experience but I have perused this website before for casting ideas http://www.smooth-on.com/Urethane-Pl.../c5/index.html
    hth
    I think in straight lines, but dream in curves

Comment

• BigguyZ
      Veteran Member
      • Jul 2006
      • Minneapolis, MN
      • Craftsman, older type w/ cast iron top

Penturners.org has a LOT on casting.

But in general, I've used testors to color epoxy with good results. Just don't go overboard with the testors- a little dab will do you.

I think Woodcraft also carries a product specifically for that as well.

Comment

• LCHIEN
        Internet Fact Checker
        • Dec 2002
        • Katy, TX, USA.
        • BT3000 vintage 1999

your biggest problems in casting epoxy are:
        1. mixing the epoxy and then getting the bubbles out. Turning it will show tiny bubble voids so you need to evacuate it after casting to boil off the bubbles. Like a bell jar and a vacuum pump. A low viscosity mix helps avoiding entraining bubbles.
        2. having the epoxy flow all around the item and leaving no voids - requires an item that can be poiured with no concave surfaces facing down that will trap bubbles