• Show
Clear All
  • Sawatzky
    Established Member
    • Apr 2005
    • CA
    • Ridgid TS3650

question about plunge base on Ridgid router

I got the Ridgid router combo for Christmas. So far it is a great router, but I have a question about the plunge base. I have never used a plunge base before, so I don't know if this is normal or not. The plunge base plunges smooth when you use both hands and the bottom of the base is completely supported by a work piece. But if I have a bit with a bearing on it and want to set the plunge for a certain depth of cut and try to plunge on the edge of a workpiece, it is very hard to plunge. It seems like any slight pressure that is not totally downward causes it to stick. Is the just the way plunge bases are? Should the plunge only be smooth if the base is completely supported by a work piece? If I have slightly less pressure on one hand on a bit more on the other it sticks too. I have lubed everything that can be lubed. Any ideas? I don't want to return the router if I just don't know what I am doing.
  • LCHIEN
    Internet Fact Checker
    • Dec 2002
    • Katy, TX, USA.
    • BT3000 vintage 1999

only certain router bits can be plunged - I would not think a bearing bit is designed to be plunged. The way to use a bearing bit is to take small bites in sequential passes coming in from outside, and not to plunge down on it. The bearing will eventually stop the horizontal travel of the bit.

That's my opinion anyway.

Only bits with bottom cutters all the way across should be plunged.
    Loring in Katy, TX USA
    If your only tool is a hammer, you tend to treat all problems as if they were nails.
    BT3 FAQ - https://www.sawdustzone.org/forum/di...sked-questions

Comment

• Sawatzky
      Established Member
      • Apr 2005
      • CA
      • Ridgid TS3650