Router Opinions, Ryobi RE180PL or something else?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • headhunter636
    Established Member
    • Jul 2004
    • Federal Way, WA
    • Ryobi BT 3000

Router Opinions, Ryobi RE180PL or something else?

I am in the market for a new router, I currently have two Craftsman routers that have served me well but I am limited with the 1/4 inch collet and want to upgrade to the 1/2 inch. I have looked at just about every router I can find and since I really like my Ryobi tools (BT3000, scroll saw, 18v Lithium kit) I thought I would give the RE180PL a look. I have read that this router is a good beginning router, although I am no master woodworker, I wouldn't say I was a beginner either. Does anyone have any opinions on this router? Is it worth the extra $100 to upgrade to a Porter Cable or DeWalt?

Any input would be great.

Dave
    Dave

BT3000

"98% of all statistics are made up"
  • dbhost
    Slow and steady
    • Apr 2008
    • League City, Texas
    • Ryobi BT3100

I am not familiar with that router, but I did have a Ryobi R161K that I sold to a friend that still uses it regularly. Good router for the $$...

I replaced it with a Hitachi KM12VC from Amazon. This is a great router and can be had for cheap watching Amazon sales...
    Please like and subscribe to my YouTube channel. Please check out and subscribe to my Workshop Blog.

Comment

• pelligrini
      Veteran Member
      • Apr 2007
      • Fort Worth, TX
      • Craftsman 21829

I'm not familiar with the Ryobi model, can't really comment on that.