• Show
Clear All
  • jon_ramp
    Established Member
    • Feb 2007
    • western Chicago burb
    • Craftsman 21829

Influence of battery replacement on driver purchase

I'm in the market for an impact driver. Seems like the Ridgid Lifetime Service Agreement which includes battery replacement is my best choice. I've had a Porter Cable 14.4v drill for more than 5 years that came with 2 batteries that no longer hold a charge for very long. The PC is the only drill/driver I've ever had and short of the battery problem still works great. A friend has a Milwaukee drill, same battery problem, and I thought the PC replacement batteries were expensive until I talked to him. I'm not a pro so my drill/driver won't get every day or even every week use. Any thoughts? Am I giving battery replacement too much weight in the purchasing decision?
  • dkerfoot
    Veteran Member
    • Mar 2004
    • Holland, Michigan
    • Craftsman 21829

Batteries do wear out. Exposing them to heat and cold wears them out faster (actually heat reduces the total lifetime of the battery, cold just shortens the time of discharge). Lithium batteries will last much longer between charges, but start to deteriorate after about three years, regardless of use.

I've got several Craftsman 19.2V tools. I recently added a Lithium battery (last Father's day) and love it. My other two non-lithiums are now used merely to cover for when the Lithium is charging.

For me, paying for a replacement battery is less painful if you use it with several tools, instead of just one. The actual cost is the same, but it seems easier to justify.

Doug Kerfoot
    "Sacrificial fence? Aren't they all?"

Smaller, Smarter Hardware Keyloggers
    "BT310" coupon code = 10% for forum members
    KeyLlama.com

Comment

• LCHIEN
      Internet Fact Checker
      • Dec 2002
      • Katy, TX, USA.
      • BT3000 vintage 1999