Cleaning the tops...wire brush on drill?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Wandere
    Established Member
    • Dec 2007
    • Madison, WI area
    • BT3000

Cleaning the tops...wire brush on drill?

Cleaning up a forgotten BT3 and I've got a few questions

1st: I'm a relative tool noob, first house is requiring a lot of them.

The Aluminum plates on top are matte grey in the channels and partly oxidized/scratched on top (not too bad really). I tried some Noxom (acid and ammonia) with so-so results, rag came off very black but not much visible difference as far as "shine" or texture. My nose hairs melted off too, bonus.

I buffed a bit with fingertips and 000 cheap-o steel wool, shined up the surface well and it was smooth then started turning it black. A quick swipe with the noxom removed the black. Anything to worry about with steel wool shredding under your fingertips while you polish the tops? Bits and pieces here and there?

I hit a small spot with a wire brush on a drill...shined it up VERY fast but also removed a wee bit of the matte grey in the tops crevice. Hrmm...

Is it "okay" to use wire wheels on the surface of the Al top parts? I think I've got a brass one that came with a HF grinder too.

Haven't touched the front/rear rails yet, not sure they need anything other than a sponge bath.

Saw was stored in a dirty area, even has the pre-recall power switch too.

Appreciate the advice, running out to find teflon spray tomorrow (missed the short Sunday hours today)

-Rob
  • JimD
    Veteran Member
    • Feb 2003
    • Lexington, SC.

Johnson's paste wax (look in the grocery store around the floor cleaners).

Aluminum oxidizes very quickly and tenatiously. When the oxide is rubbed off, it looks black. Because it is tenatious, it does not flake off like steel and thus the material does not significantly degrade from the oxidation.