• Show
Clear All
  • mschrank
    Veteran Member
    • Oct 2004
    • Hood River, OR, USA.
    • BT3000

biscuit joiner question

I'm in a bit of a dilemma. I'm making a small project for the wife for Christmas...it's a "charging valet" sort of like that pictured in the link.

I'm using 1/2" maple. I'm at the point in the project where I'm ready to make the final cuts before assembly. I had planned on using mortise & tenon joinery where necessary (simple butt joints will work in some places), but I just happen to know that I'm getting a DeWalt biscuit joiner from her for Christmas (she doesn't realize how easy it is to verify which items have been purchased on my Amazon wish list )

I've never used a biscuit joiner before, but I'm thinking this might be a perfect application for it. Can one be used on 1/2" stock...or is that too thin? I'm thinking I might put off finishing this until after Christmas so I can put my new toy to use.
    Mike

Drywall screws are not wood screws
  • SARGE..g-47

I think it can be used on 1/2" if yoy use the small bicuits, but there are others that are better qualified to answer that question. But... I just wanted to add that I would not wait and use the M & T's as I can think of no reason to regret that decision.

Good pieces have been sucessfully completed for centuries before anyone ever felt a real need for a biscuit joiner and designed one.

Comment

• LCHIEN
      Internet Fact Checker
      • Dec 2002
      • Katy, TX, USA.
      • BT3000 vintage 1999

I wouldn't use a BJ in less than 1/2" material, I'd think that 1/2" is about the limit...
      the biscuit is something like .170-.180 thick so the material above and below a perfectly centered biscuit would be about .170 thick...

Too thin and the biscuit could be "telegraphed" and show its outline and become a weak point to boot.