is the Rikon Model 10-325 able to cut straight with a good blade?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • mateo5
    Forum Newbie
    • Nov 2007
    • Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic

is the Rikon Model 10-325 able to cut straight with a good blade?

Well I'm sure this is a newbie question but I have to admit it: Im a newbie

I have a delta bs-100 and no matter what I do I cant get her to cut straight I did everything in my knowledge and I even bought a woodslicer (that gave me the closest thing to a straighter cut) but honestly Im giving up with this BS. Not that I want to resaw with it... I just want clean straighter cuts for picture frames.

Now Im moving forward and Im a considering the Rikon 10-325 but Im a little paranoid as I dont live in the US (hello from Dominican Republic!) and since Im here and there is no way to get a decent BS in Dominican Republic Im forced to buy it online from a US seller, ship it to miami and then to the DR and that alone is killing me!

I have done some research and the 10-325 for my needs seems the best option for me. I just want some insight and a honest opinion about the 10-325 ability to do true and clean straight cuts and which blade would help me on that (woodslicer maybe?) because this time with the money Im gonna put on it I cant afford any mistakes.

Thank you all.

Carlo Juan

ps: it's a pleasure to be here
  • Jeffrey Schronce
    Veteran Member
    • Nov 2005
    • York, PA, USA.

No, it will not give you a straight line. A $3000 MiniMax will not cut a straight line. Bandsaws are not made to cut straight lines, at least not straight enough to go straight to project without jointing.

The Rikon is a great little saw, but again no bandsaw is going to make straight rip or miter cuts.

Comment

• LCHIEN
      Internet Fact Checker
      • Dec 2002
      • Katy, TX, USA.
      • BT3000 vintage 1999