• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • THyman
    Established Member
    • Feb 2005
    • Atlanta, Georgia, USA

Hitachi Drill press mortise attachment

I'd like to buy a mortising attachment for my new Hitachi 15" drill press (floor model). Does anyone know of one that works with this dp? Any advice would be a huge help.

Todd
    War Eagle!
  • sacherjj
    Not Your Average Joe
    • Dec 2005
    • Indianapolis, IN, USA.
    • BT3100-1

I've talked to 10 or so people who purchased mortising attachments for their drill press. ALL of them wished that they saved that money and purchased even a cheap dedicated mortising machine. I have no experience with them, but I have decided that a dedicated machine will be my eventual route as well.
    Joe Sacher

Comment

• ted van halen
      Forum Newbie
      • Mar 2006

I started a similar thread for a craftsman DP a while back:

http://www.bt3central.com/showthread.php?t=19764

Lot's of good advice. I'm waiting until I can buy a mortiser.

Comment

• LCHIEN
        Internet Fact Checker
        • Dec 2002
        • Katy, TX, USA.
        • BT3000 vintage 1999

Not sure, but I'm thinking you'd probably have to remove your Laser cross hairs attachment to mount the mortiser attachment.
        Loring in Katy, TX USA
        If your only tool is a hammer, you tend to treat all problems as if they were nails.
        BT3 FAQ - https://www.sawdustzone.org/forum/di...sked-questions

Comment

• jziegler
          Veteran Member
          • Aug 2005
          • Salem, NJ, USA.
          • Ryobi BT3100

Just thought that I'd pass this along. Harbor Freight (mail order sales) has a mortiser on sale for $100. Take that price to a store with a 20% off, it should be $80. It gets mixed reviews, but is about the same price as Amazon lists for the Delta mortise attachment with chisels. Which is better? depends on who you ask, and not many like the DP mortiser.

Jim

Comment

• Imadunatic
            Established Member
            • Feb 2005