Clear All
  • radhak
    Veteran Member
    • Apr 2006
    • Miramar, FL
    • Right Tilt 3HP Unisaw

Best value Tablesaw blade?

Hi,

I am a newbie woodworker. I bought the Ryobi BTS20R a couple of months ago, and have been using it as a weekend activity. Along the way I chanced upon a pair of "carbide tipped" tablesaw blades at BigLots for $8 for the pair ( ! ) , and went ahead and bought it (yes, i know, greed overcame caution at that point). I meant it to be just a trial thing while I hunted around for a nicer blade.

Long story short, I was trying to cut small panels out of a 4x8 plywood (5.2mm thick) last weekend with this cheap blade, and tripped the circuits a couple of times. I researched the net and found advice to the effect that
    (a) the blade could be to blame
    (b) my technique could be faulty - very likely, seeing that most probably I was pushing the plywood too fast, or was pushing it across the blade diagonally instead of along the blade, or both

Assuming that the circuit-tripping was only symptomatic of bigger problems, I switched the blade back to the stock blade from Ryobi, and took great care to correct my technique, and managed to not trip the circuit. So maybe it was me, or maybe it was the blade. But assuming I can learn to do it the right way, I do not want to risk my life and limb with bad blades any longer. I would like to buy some other blades that I would not be embarassed to own up to. At the same time, my tablesaw cost me $199, so buying a Forrest for around $95 somehow seems to be lopsided. And to top that, one particular review on Amazon severely warned that the Forrest blade(s) was not "anti-kickback".

So, time for some Advice from all you gurus : what blade? I did skim thru some prior discussions here, and read that a $29 Freud from HD was pretty good. Is it good from the BTS20R? And what is 'anti-kickback'? Is it important?