X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • HoosierWood

What would you do??

Hi guys,
    I've been bitten by the woodworking bug and am outfitting my shop. I bought the BT3100 a few months ago and have routers, DP, CMS, etc. I am now in the buying mode for the following:

13" planer
    6" jointer
    14" bandsaw

Here's the dilemma.... I have read really good reviews on the Ridgid items sold at the BORG, and can pick up all 3 machines for $1050 + tax. OR, as I work for a company that is a JET dealer, I can get the same stuff from JET for $1350 + tax + shipping. Keeping in mind that I'm just starting out, what would you recommend? I also can get the JET 708639RC DC for $305.00 which I will probably do today.

Thanks,
    Tim
  • Russianwolf
    Veteran Member
    • Jan 2004
    • Martinsburg, WV, USA.
    • One of them there Toy saws

While the Ridgid tools are pretty good, I think for $300 difference I would go with the Jets. The Planer especially.

As for the DC, I would check out the HF 2hp unit that is very popular around here.

Another option would be Grizzly.

14" ultimate bandsaw (with all the trimmins) $495
    6" Jointer $545
    15" planer $765 or 13"planer/molder $865

That's $1800 or $1900 to your door. an a good bit less if you have a store near you.
    Last edited by Russianwolf; 04-07-2006, 10:39 AM.
    Mike
    Lakota's Dad

If at first you don't succeed, deny you were trying in the first place.

Comment

• LCHIEN
      Internet Fact Checker
      • Dec 2002
      • Katy, TX, USA.
      • BT3000 vintage 1999

Originally posted by HoosierWood
      Hi guys,
      I've been bitten by the woodworking bug and am outfitting my shop. I bought the BT3100 a few months ago and have routers, DP, CMS, etc. I am now in the buying mode for the following:

13" planer
      6" jointer
      14" bandsaw