• Show
Clear All
  • PartTimeHack
    Forum Newbie
    • Mar 2015
    • TN
    • Ryobi BT3000

Another quick question

As I mentioned, I am relatively new to woodworking so I plan on asking a lot of questions.

I find that I (or the saw) am struggling to rip 3/4" mdf on a 45 degree bevel without burning it.

Is this normally from the scrap not being able to pull away and getting somewhat wedged beneath the blade or do I just need a sharper blade?

Thanks.
  • Bill in Buena Park
    Veteran Member
    • Nov 2007
    • Buena Park, CA
    • CM 21829

A dull (or dirty) blade could cause this, or other factors to check including alignment of your rip fence to the blade, type of wood and feed rate.
    Bill in Buena Park

Comment

• JSUPreston
      Veteran Member
      • Dec 2005
      • Montgomery, AL.
      • Delta 36-979 w/Biesemyere fence kit making it a 36-982. Previous saw was BT3100-1.

I can think of several things that may be coming into play.

1. How sharp is the blade? Carbide teeth or plain steel?
      2. What table saw are you using? Horsepower rating of the motor? 120 or 240V?
      3. Is the fence absolutely parallel to the blade? Some prefer the back of the fence to be about 1/64th off of parallel to help keep offcuts from getting trapped.
      4. How far above the material do you have the blade?
      5. Is the blade a regular or thin kerf blade?

Just some quick things that may help us narrow down the problem.
      "It's a dog eat dog world out there, and I'm wearing Milk-Bone underwear."- Norm (from Cheers)

Eat beef-because the west wasn't won on salad.

Comment

• PartTimeHack
        Forum Newbie
        • Mar 2015
        • TN
        • Ryobi BT3000

1) It is a carbide blade, but old. Probably the original stock blade.
        2) BT3000
        3) I'll have to check for parallel. I thought it was pretty good.
        4) The blade is only slightly (1/16th or so) maybe above the blade
        5) I don't remember.

Thanks.

Comment

• Black wallnut