• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • mikemuirhead
    Forum Newbie
    • Jul 2003
    • Imperial, PA, USA.

Subpanel Questions

Hello all. I have a 100amp main panel and I'm out of breaker spaces. I am planning to add a 125amp main lug as a subpanel being fed by a 60amp breaker from the main. The panels will be right next to each other so the run will be about a foot and voltage drop shouldn't an issue. I have some 6-3 nm copper laying around but it doesn't have a ground. Will #10 copper be OK to use for the ground wire and is the 6-3 sufficient to use as the feeder? I don't need a separate disconnect for the sub since it is being fed by the breaker on the main which is literally right beside it, correct? I will have over 6 circuits in the sub. Thanks for your help.
    Mike
  • dbhost
    Slow and steady
    • Apr 2008
    • League City, Texas
    • Ryobi BT3100

Let me get this straight. You want to pull an additional 60 amps off of an already loaded 100 amp main panel? I am no electrician, but I suspect you are asking for trouble with this idea.

It cost me more to do it this way, but I bumped my 150 amp to 200 amp service to run my 60 amp sub panel (100 amp box with a 60 amp main breaker so I can cut it all off from within the shop).

Consult with a qualified electrician. It is money well spent.
    Please like and subscribe to my YouTube channel. Please check out and subscribe to my Workshop Blog.

Comment

• cabinetman
      Gone but not Forgotten RIP
      • Jun 2006
      • So. Florida
      • Delta

Originally posted by dbhost

Consult with a qualified electrician. It is money well spent.
      +1. Absolutely.

Comment

• Stytooner
        Roll Tide RIP Lee
        • Dec 2002
        • Robertsdale, AL, USA.
        • BT3100

I would also caution about adding onto a loaded panel.
        If it is full, that generally translates to maxed out. I would check the size of the feed going into the 100 A panel now.