X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Salty
    • Feb 2006
    • Akron, Ohio

Thien on a dime!

Well, a little more than a dime...but not much.
    All I can say is WOW...I should have done this a long time ago.
    I am thoroughly and completely impressed and amazed at how well this works.
    After I got a close 90 degree ell and sealed up some leaks it works great. There are still some leaks that will be resolved when I get some 2” hose and fittings.
    If I have $5 in the whole thing I’d be surprised.
    I used the plastic lid that was on the 5 gal driveway coating bucket. I am wondering if perhaps the ribs on the underside of that lid may be causing some undesired turbulence. If so, it doesn’t seem to be enough to bother the performance. My last test was to vacuum up a variety of carpet yarn, sawdust, paper and wood chips. Only a pinch of dust was in the shop vac, no large stuff. That is exactly what I was shooting for. With a paper filter bag in the vac I will have my working collector system.
    Salty
    Attached Files
    Why doesn't the word 'planing' show up in my computer spell check?
  • crokett
    The Full Monte
    • Jan 2003
    • Mebane, NC, USA.
    • Ryobi BT3000

So that works on a 5 gal bucket? I have a kit that was supposed to work with a 5 gal bucket but the air doesn't slow down enough to let stuff fall out of it. Maybe if I modify it and add the baffle it would.
    David

The chief cause of failure in this life is giving up what you want most for what you want at the moment.

Comment

• dbhost
      Slow and steady
      • Apr 2008
      • League City, Texas
      • Ryobi BT3100

The Thien baffle is only half of the equation. Many of the lids have a port on each side, instead of inlet on one side, and outlet to the vac in the middle. The middle of the bucket is where the air is slowest and should have dropped its load...
      Please like and subscribe to my YouTube channel. Please check out and subscribe to my Workshop Blog.

Comment