X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • bearwood
    Forum Newbie
    • Jul 2007

eclipse jig

does anyone out there have plans for an eclipse cutting jig? or, do you know where I can get them? Cost of buying commercial one is high.
    thanks lenny
  • Uncle Cracker
    The Full Monte
    • May 2007
    • Sunshine State
    • BT3000

I assume you mean an ellipse jig... Rockler has a ready made jig available here. Or, if you want plans to build your own multi-purpose jig, here's what you can get at Woodcraft.

Comment

• MilDoc

The jig Uncle Cracker mentioned is a bit cheaper directly from WOOD magazine:

http://woodstore.net/plunroutjig.html

Comment

• ironhat
        Veteran Member
        • Aug 2004
        • Chambersburg, PA (South-central).
        • Ridgid 3650 (can I still play here?)

I'm not seeing the potential for cutting an ellipse with that jig, Paul. Outside of it being a guide for straight cuts I'm not getting it. I admit that I'm not experienced at using a router outside of table top and fence so I may just be ignorant. Can you provide any additional info.

TIA!
        Blessings,
        Chiz

Comment

• atgcpaul
          Veteran Member
          • Aug 2003
          • Maryland
          • Grizzly 1023SLX

Originally posted by bearwood
          does anyone out there have plans for an eclipse cutting jig? or, do you know where I can get them? Cost of buying commercial one is high.
          thanks lenny
          Not exactly measured drawings but this is a very basic jig that can also get
          you started.

http://www.woodweb.com/knowledge_bas..._Ellipses.html

Paul

Comment

• MilDoc

Originally posted by ironhat
            I'm not seeing the potential for cutting an ellipse with that jig, Paul. Outside of it being a guide for straight cuts I'm not getting it. I admit that I'm not experienced at using a router outside of table top and fence so I may just be ignorant. Can you provide any additional info.

TIA!