• Show
Clear All
  • BigguyZ
    Veteran Member
    • Jul 2006
    • Minneapolis, MN
    • Craftsman, older type w/ cast iron top

Fixed Vs Mobile Bench/ TS/ Whatever

I'm just getting into WW and I figure that the first thing to build would be a better workshop! I have space on the smaller side in my bsement to use. The biggest issue is a support that is smack dab in the middle, and makes things hard to work around. I'm starting to think that a mobile base for both my TS and workbench would allow the most flexibility. However, am I giving up stability?

Is there a compromise/ solution to allow a mobile work station or bench to be both movable and stable once set?

Or, should I just concentrate on the layout of the shop and make the majority of the work area fixed/ stationary?
  • Tom Miller
    Veteran Member
    • Mar 2003
    • Twin Cities, MN
    • BT3000 - Cuttin' it old school

What are the dimensions of the area, and how far out from each wall is the support?

My BT3 mobile base is highly mobile, and very solid once in position. I chose not to rely on locking casters -- haven't come across any yet that lock well enough for my taste -- but rather, I use four swivel casters in conjunction with a couple of these:

Click image for larger version

Name:	Leveler Foot.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	21.7 KB
ID:	779621

They're homemade leveler feet; new and improved version utilizes eyebolts that can be turned by hand. There are two in front, one on each side, and they make the unit VERY solid, and allow for all four points of contact to be equally loaded.

More info here.

Regards,
    Tom

Comment

• LCHIEN
      Internet Fact Checker
      • Dec 2002
      • Katy, TX, USA.
      • BT3000 vintage 1999

various types of "mobile bases" for tools allow movement but then allow the tool to be firmly planted on the ground by various means of lowering at least two corners to the ground to be off any swiveling casters.

One popular mobile base is made by HTC and sold on Amazon.