• Show
Clear All
  • toolbelt diva
    Established Member
    • Oct 2004
    • Houston, TX, USA.
    • Ryobi BT3100-1

Ebony - Cutting disks and drilling a ball depression

I am going to use the BT3 to cut 3/8" or 1/2" wide disks from round 7/8" diameter ebony pen blanks. Then I would like to make a round bottom depression on one of the flat sides similar to the depressions in a marble game, but only 7/16" in width and about half that in depth. I thought I might try a 7/16" ball end mill, but am not sure how safe it will be to use in a drill press. I don't know if a ball end router bit can be used vertically and I am not sure if a regular 7/16" drill bit would work, since the depressions need to have round bottoms, because I will then epoxy a ball bearing in the depression. I am still a beginning woodworker and have never worked with ebony (just pine and poplar so far), so I would greatly appreciate any advice or recommendations anyone has to offer on cutting the disks and making the depressions.
    Last edited by toolbelt diva; 02-06-2012, 10:08 PM.
    Rita
  • Stytooner
    Roll Tide RIP Lee
    • Dec 2002
    • Robertsdale, AL, USA.
    • BT3100

I personally think this stock is too small to be cutting on a table saw. Chances of something going wrong would be pretty high. A bandsaw would be a better choice. The best choice might be a lathe.

Either an endmill or router bit would probably work okay to do the cupping. It will all be slow going. That is some hard material.
    Lee

Comment

• LCHIEN
      Internet Fact Checker
      • Dec 2002
      • Katy, TX, USA.
      • BT3000 vintage 1999

If you have a fixture to hold the short round vertically then a router bit with a round end will work. A core box or round end bit would do it plunged into the end of the dowel.
      Need to fix the dowel end and the holder so they won't spin when you put the bit to it.
      Loring in Katy, TX USA