• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Cubsfan
    Established Member
    • Jan 2004
    • CO.

Bench Dogs (and Holes)

Ok, so I'm just about done with my first decent bench, and I am going to be drilling the bench dog holes soon. Stupid question: do they go all the way through? I've never used bench dogs before, so I'm not really sure.

Second question: if they go all the way through, how do they stay above the surface to hold things?

Also, any suggestions as far as which bench dogs to get? And if I'm not mistaken, they are 3/4" holes, right?

Thanks for the help!
  • LarryG
    The Full Monte
    • May 2004
    • Off The Back
    • Powermatic PM2000, BT3100-1

Yes, the holes go all the way through, for at least two reasons: so they won't fill up with sawdust and shavings, and so you can reach under the bench and push a fully-retracted dog up with your finger.

They stay put by means of a spring wire set into the back side of the dog.

Different diameters are available but 3/4" is the overwhelming de facto standard.

Mine are brass, from Lee Valley. You can make your own out of 3/4" wood dowels.

BTW there are also square bench dogs, usually shop-made from wood, but since it's a lot easier to drill a round hole than build up a benchtop with a series of square holes, the round ones are more commonly seen nowadays.
    Larry

Comment

• dbhost
      Slow and steady
      • Apr 2008
      • League City, Texas
      • Ryobi BT3100

Yes, they go all the way through, that way you can use the same holes for things like holdfasts...

What keeps them from falling through depends on the design of the dogs. Mine are cheapie plastic ones from Rockler, and they have a very short, very wide square head that sticks up and keeps them from falling through...

And lastly, yes, they are 3/4" holes.
      Please like and subscribe to my YouTube channel. Please check out and subscribe to my Workshop Blog.

Comment

• JimD
        Veteran Member
        • Feb 2003
        • Lexington, SC.