Clear All
  • PJC
    Established Member
    • Jul 2004
    • NJ, USA.
    • BT3100

Joining MDF

Hey everyone,

I am working on building a rolling cart for my MS. I am using MDF. It will be a basic box with a shelf in the middle and locking casters on the bottom. This is my first time working with MDF, so I am not sure of the best way to join the top and bottom to the sides. I was thinking of using rabbet joints because I have never done a rabbet joint and MDF is cheap enough that I don't have to worry if I screw it up and need to buy more. Another way that I was thinking of joining the pieces was with biscuits. Does it matter which method I use? Is there a better method to joining MDF? If a do use a rabbet join, should I rabbet the side pieces and lay the top and bottom pieces into the rabbet, or do I rabbet the top and bottom pieces and lay them on top of the side pieces?

As for joining the shelf, I was just going to cut a dado on each side. Again, is this a good join for a shelf with MDF?

Finally, when gluing up the pieces is it ok to secure them with brad nails, or is MDF too unpredictable as to where the brad will ultimately wind up?

Thanks....I will clarify anything if needed.

Pete
  • bigsteel15
    Veteran Member
    • Feb 2006
    • Edmonton, AB
    • Ryobi BT3100

Hopefully Rod Kirby will chime in, but I would think biscuits are the way to go.

If you use rabbets, I would cut them into the top/bottom pieces and use screws, not brads. And pre-drill the screw holes extra deep.
    Brian

Welcome to the school of life
    Where corporal punishment is alive and well.

Comment

• JimD
      Veteran Member
      • Feb 2003
      • Lexington, SC.

Pete,