X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • woodynoob
    Forum Newbie
    • Apr 2013

What do I have?

My father passed a few years back and I've finally gotten around to cleaning out his workshop. I knew he owned two tablesaws, but I fell down laughing when I saw one was a BT3000!!! No wonder I ended up buying my own on Craigslist last spring...either it was a subconscious impulse or some sort of psychic channeling thing...

Anyway, I wanted to talk about the second TableSaw and get some advice. My father raved about it for years and showed it to me a couple times, but I didn't know squat about saws and woodworking so it didn't mean much. Well, after pulling out the table into the light, cleaning it up, changing the blade, etc.. I now know what he was talking about.

I believe some cabinetmaker made himself a saw and it is gorgeous! A great joining of wood and steel with great precision. However, I'm no expert, so am bringing the question to the community... What do I have?

A full photo set can be found here: https://www.icloud.com/photostream/#A8532ODWvupgb

It runs nicely and I did a couple test cuts with an old blade.

Thank you,

Aaron
  • woodturner
    Veteran Member
    • Jun 2008
    • Western Pennsylvania
    • General, Sears 21829, BT3100

My first thought was that it was built from a Gilliom plan set. After looking at the pictures more carefully, though, it doesn't really look like a Gilliom.

I think you are right, I think a woodworker (probably an engineer) build his own saw.
    --------------------------------------------------
    Electrical Engineer by day, Woodworker by night

Comment

• capncarl
      Veteran Member
      • Jan 2007
      • Leesburg Georgia USA
      • SawStop CTS

I believe that I would clean the paint spills on the top, wipe it down and move it into the house as a corner table. At least in your shop as a display piece.
      capncarl

Comment

• leehljp
        Just me
        • Dec 2002
        • Tunica, MS
        • BT3000/3100