• Show
Clear All
  • radhak
    Veteran Member
    • Apr 2006
    • Miramar, FL
    • Right Tilt 3HP Unisaw

Building a deck : questions

This for a friend, who has not done much of woodworking, but has been bitten by the home-improve bug, and recently laid a decent area of pavers around his swimming pool all by himself. So, inexperienced, but willing to learn, and bend his back.

Behind his swimming pool is a sloping grassy area around 20 feet wide, a fence at that point separating his property from the lake behind it.

He wants to build a smallish deck there all by himself, of an area around 15 x 15 ft, approx. I would help as much as I can, but I have never built a deck before.

Click image for larger version

Name:	Ajay%u0025252520Deck.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	18.5 KB
ID:	800966

I visited him yesterday, and he has already installed most of the posts in the ground: at around 5 feet apart. He was wanting to use plastic/composite lumber, but found them 'very flexible, not stiff like wood', and asked for advice.

At this point I realized that he was planning to build the decking right on top of the beams, without joists!?! He says he's willing to consider stronger wood, like ipe, if that would be good enough. He's also willing to add more posts in between, with beams running across, if that could help him avoid joists.

Why does he want to avoid joists? Dunno - probably because he had not planned for it, and thinks it adds work without adding value, this being a rather small deck.

Just in case I am not being very clear, this pic shows what I mean :

Name:	Deck%u0025252520parts.png
Size:	194.4 KB
ID:	800968

I told him I'll ask around, but most probably he will have to pause a bit and do it the right way : joists on top of the beams, decking on top of the joists.