• Show
Clear All
  • JoeyGee
    Veteran Member
    • Nov 2005
    • Sylvania, OH, USA.
    • BT3100-1

Gas Dryer with No Heat

My gas dryer is running, but it gets no heat. I have no experience with appliances, so I don't even know where to look. The only thing I have done is to make sure there is no lint clogged up--which there was a little.

We had DirectTV installed yesterday, and the guy was working over it and around it, but everything is plugged in, including the gas line. The genius did run some cables directly UNDER the dryer exhaust on the outside of the house, which is where some lint collected, but I doubt that or anything else the guy could have done would have damaged the dryer.

What should I check?
    Joe
  • LCHIEN
    Internet Fact Checker
    • Dec 2002
    • Katy, TX, USA.
    • BT3000 vintage 1999

gas is off
    pilot light is out
    or thermal cutout is broken - keeps the gas flowing only if the flame is on and hot
    or gas solenoid valve is broken.

or electrical igniter bad

or the timer is bad (has contacts for energizing the gas solenoid valve.)

There's some websites online that will walk you though appliance problems and even help you get the right replacement part numbers an take your order for said parts.
    Loring in Katy, TX USA
    If your only tool is a hammer, you tend to treat all problems as if they were nails.
    BT3 FAQ - https://www.sawdustzone.org/forum/di...sked-questions

Comment

• DaveS
      • May 2003
      • Minneapolis,MN

When my gas dryer did not heat, it ended up being a part called a "glow plug" (the thing that ignites the gas).

$29 and a 5 minute installation later, we were back in business.

Comment

• billwmeyer
        Veteran Member
        • Feb 2003
        • Weir, Ks, USA.
        • BT3000

You might double check the gas valvel He could have accidently shut if off while working around it. That would be a cheap fix.

Bill