• Show
Clear All
  • DUD
    Royal Jester
    • Dec 2002
    • Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA.
    • Ryobi BT3000

A Coil Problem

I have a 3 ton AC unit that the inside coil has rusted out the pan and is dripping badly over

the indoor electronics. We have been thinking about a heat pump with extra electric heat

strips. Totally get rid of the natural gas, Our electric rates are the lowest in the state.

Does anyone think this is a good or bad idea? Thanks, Bill
    5 OUT OF 4 PEOPLE DON'T UNDERSTAND FRACTIONS.
  • crokett
    The Full Monte
    • Jan 2003
    • Mebane, NC, USA.
    • Ryobi BT3000

Bill,

I am not an HVAC professional, but I do own a heat pump. Advantages are they are slightly cheaper to operate. Also being electric their costs are more predictable since electric rates are not going to fluctuate as much as fuel prices. Disadvantages are that gas heat is 'warmer' heat if that makes sense. I am not sure how cold it gets where you are. Also, my dad can run his gas heat off his generator since all he needs is electric for the t-stat but on a heat pump you need a whole house generator to get heat in winter if you have no power. My backup/supplemental heat in winter is a woodstove.
    David

The chief cause of failure in this life is giving up what you want most for what you want at the moment.

Comment

• master53yoda
      Established Member
      • Oct 2008
      • Spokane Washington
      • bt 3000 2 of them and a shopsmith ( but not for the tablesaw part)