• Show
Clear All
  • leehljp
    Just me
    • Dec 2002
    • Tunica, MS
    • BT3000/3100

Why Gutters?

I have been contemplating taking our gutters down for the last 6 months. Only half the house has them.

So the question is: When are gutters more beneficial than a nuisance? I have maintained them and my mom has in the past, just because they were there. But since half the house does not have them and there are seemingly no side effects for that part, I am thinking of taking them down from the half that has them.

Your ideas please.
    Hank Lee

Experience is what you get when you don't get what you wanted!
  • wreckwriter
    Established Member
    • Mar 2006
    • South Florida
    • BT3100-1

At my house they're only installed in places where the water runs down so hard it'll cut a trench without them.
    http://www.wreckwriter.com/

Comment

• Salty
      • Feb 2006
      • Akron, Ohio

I would say it would depend on if your house has a basement.
      It has always seemed to me that when a person digs a huge hole in the ground and then builds a house over it, he then needs to keep the water from filling the hole.
      Many many years ago they built homes that would take advantage of natural springs running through the basement but not any more. And, no matter how we try, many times but not always, eventually, if there is enough water trying to get in there it will find a way.
      Gutters, downspouts and drain pipes help to take that water, which might otherwise find its way into the basement, and drain it away from the foundation. At least that is what I'm thinking!!
      Why doesn't the word 'planing' show up in my computer spell check?

Comment

• Jim Boyd
        Veteran Member
        • Dec 2002
        • Montgomery, Texas, USA.
        • Delta Unisaw