• Show
Clear All
  • vaking
    Veteran Member
    • Apr 2005
    • Montclair, NJ, USA.
    • Ryobi BT3100-1

Replacing the motor

Some time ago I posted the a question here about a chipper/shredder that needed a new motor. Thanks to your help and with certain difficulties but I got a new motor over the Internet. It's a 6hp motor, the original was 4hp, but the chipper is designed to support up to 8, so that should be fine. The next problem is that in order to replace the motor I need to remove the pulley off the shaft and that thing would not come off without specialized tool. I am a woodworker, not an automechanic and I don't have a 3-jaw puller. I know I can buy one at Sears or at HF but I hate to buy a tool, use it once and get stuck with it forever. What would you do?
    Alex V
  • liqdfire
    Forum Newbie
    • Apr 2006
    • St. Petersburg, FL
    • BT3100

Originally posted by vaking
    Some time ago I posted the a question here about a chipper/shredder that needed a new motor. Thanks to your help and with certain difficulties but I got a new motor over the Internet. It's a 6hp motor, the original was 4hp, but the chipper is designed to support up to 8, so that should be fine. The next problem is that in order to replace the motor I need to remove the pulley off the shaft and that thing would not come off without specialized tool. I am a woodworker, not an automechanic and I don't have a 3-jaw puller. I know I can buy one at Sears or at HF but I hate to buy a tool, use it once and get stuck with it forever. What would you do?