• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • GeekMom
    • Dec 2004
    • Bonney Lake, WA.
    • Shopsmith Mark V

Hemlock for a project?

I've seen posts using different woods for various projects, but not hemlock. Is there a reason for this? My next project is a flag case for my dad's flag. I've found some beautiful woods, but most aren't uniform thickness and I don't have a planer. The grain appears to be tight and straight. Would this work, or should I try to find something that would be better suited? The only wood that I have used flat has been BORG pine, [:I] so I have no experience with better wood. Thanks in advance.
    Karen
    <><
  • drumpriest
    Veteran Member
    • Feb 2004
    • Pittsburgh, Pa, USA.
    • Powermatic PM 2000

You may be able to find a place that will do shop work for you at an hourly rate. There is a lumber yard around here that also has a cabinet shop, and they'll dimension lumber for me. It's been nice because I have neither a jointer nor a planer, but they do the job at rates so cheap they often don't charge me for the little bit that I need.

I havn't used Hemlock for any projects, though my woods where I grew up are full of hemlock trees. The name of the area was "Hemlock Springs" because of...well.... all of the hemlock trees and natural springs.

Keith Z. Leonard
    Go Steelers!

Comment

• Pappy
      The Full Monte
      • Dec 2002
      • San Marcos, TX, USA.
      • BT3000 (x2)

The only Hemlock I have used wsa some preturned posts that I cut in half for the legs of a work table for the 'Boss'. It took stain very well was a good match for the Birch and Birch ply table top.
      Don, aka Pappy,

Wise men talk because they have something to say,
      Fools because they have to say something.
      Plato

Comment

• Whaler
        Veteran Member
        • Dec 2002
        • Sequim, WA, USA.
        • DW746

Karen