• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • FuryRoad
    Forum Newbie
    • May 2016
    • Atlanta, ga

Which table saw should I buy?

Hello, I'm not an expert woodworker, obviously, but I used to own the BT3100 back in 2008. I seem to remember getting it because of BT3. I sold it a month or so later because I didn't have time to use it. Well, I have more time now, but Ryobi doesn't sell that saw anymore, and I do'nt know what to get new, not used.

This is for woodworking, making a planter, or the like in complexity. I think I'd use a miter saw for stuff like a shed. Thanks.

EDIT: Used is okay too.
    Last edited by FuryRoad; 05-08-2016, 05:12 PM.
  • vaking
    Veteran Member
    • Apr 2005
    • Montclair, NJ, USA.
    • Ryobi BT3100-1

Projects like planters can be done without table saw. Circular saw with straight edge will do nicely. Save money and space for now. Think of table saw as a swiss army knife. It can do many things but none perfect. What kind of project would you consider a justification for swiss army knife?
    Alex V

Comment

• poolhound
      Veteran Member
      • Mar 2006
      • Phoenix, AZ
      • BT3100

As Alex said if its just a planter you wish to make you can do this without a table saw. If you desire to make other types of things over time then give us an idea of what you have in mind and we can suggest some options. Assuming you have you heart set on a TS (which is fine) then they come in a very wide array of sizes, weights, power, feature & price points so do also give us an idea of things like how much room you have, will its stay in one place or do you want to be able to move it and of course your budget.

Take a look at your local craigslist and you will undoubtedly find a bunch of used saws for sale from anywhere from $50 - $1000. Not sure where you live but in most large cities you will find a few good deals to be had.
      Jon

Phoenix AZ - It's a dry heat

We all make mistakes and I should know I've made enough of them