X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • googlexx
    Handtools only
    • Mar 2016

Completely new woodworker looking for advice on what table saw to get

As the title says I'm new to woodworking however I am going to be doing a lot of home work and need a table saw. Mainly just cutting sheets for walls and some furniture work. I've read up on a lot of saws and have looked around at deals and came up with a few I think are decent. I'm looking for something that will last a long time and won't have to upgrade in the near future. Would love to hear some advice on what the pros think.

All links go to home depot.

BOSCH GTS1031 - I can get this for $320 with a gravity rise stand included. I've read a lot of great reviews about this saw however i'm not sure if the rip capacity is too small.

Rigid R4513 - I can get this for $275.

SKIL 3410-02 - I cant get this for $215

These are the 3 saws i've found that have had some good reviews and I have decently cheap prices for them. Any info on these or any other good saw to get would be greatly appreciated.
  • leehljp
    Just me
    • Dec 2002
    • Tunica, MS
    • BT3000/3100

Not a saw recommendation but I have the "gravity rise" with a Ryobi BT3000 on it and it is great.

I would get a Bosch and Ridgid over the Skil. I am not sure of the particulars of any of those, but the brand of Bosch alone means a very good standard. Ridgid tools usually get good reviews, regardless of what tool it is. That said, I don't have any experience with any of them.

What are you going to use these for? These are not for your basic precision cuts.
    Hank Lee

Experience is what you get when you don't get what you wanted!

Comment

• cork58
      Established Member
      • Jan 2006
      • Wasilla, AK, USA.
      • BT3000

Well the Ridgid has a lifetime warranty if you register it. I have a R4512 and really like it. Still have my frankensaws as well.
      Cork,

Dare to dream and dare to fail.

Comment

• Doctor Jeff
        Forum Newbie