Clear All
  • aiyou
    SawdustZone Patron
    • Mar 2006
    • Charlotte, NC
    • BT3100

Jointer Options

Looking for my first jointer, and have come across the following:

The HF 30289 certainly appears one of their gems. Spoke with the owner, and its part of an estate sale of a former contractor.

The Ridgid looks to be the JP0610, but as I'm new to jointers, am not quite sure. The table seems larger than 6" in the picture, and also appears to not have been used in quite some time.

Don't think I can go wrong with either one, but which would be the better choice considering they're comparably priced??

Thanks
    Rob
  • sweensdv
    Veteran Member
    • Dec 2002
    • WI
    • Baileigh TS-1040P-50

No brainer, buy the RIDGID.

Comment

• dbhost
      Slow and steady
      • Apr 2008
      • League City, Texas
      • Ryobi BT3100

Take a look at both of them. See if the seller can put the fence on the ridgid back together correctly. IF it goes back together correctly and everything works, the Ridgid is a better jointer, but that is NOT saying the HF is any slacker... But if it comes down to having to fix a busted fence, I would steer clear of that Ridgid...
      Please like and subscribe to my YouTube channel. Please check out and subscribe to my Workshop Blog.

Comment

• aiyou
        SawdustZone Patron
        • Mar 2006
        • Charlotte, NC
        • BT3100

Thanks guys.

The seller for the Ridgid is out of town til Sunday, and the fence on the table was something that caught my attention. Have only had limited communication with his wife, so not sure if it is busted or operational - just that it is still available.

Comment

• Cubsfan
          Established Member
          • Jan 2004
          • CO.

I have the Rigid, really like it. Is that rust on the tabletop or something else? I'm always amazed that people don't even clean something up a little bit before they list it.

Comment

• aiyou
            SawdustZone Patron
            • Mar 2006