• Show
Clear All
  • rxvii
    Forum Newbie
    • Aug 2009
    • Cheshire, CT
    • Ryobi BTS21 with miter channel

BTS21 Panel Cutting Jig

I just purchased a BTS21 table saw. Being a novice, I didn't realize the importance of a mitre slot, which, of course, the BTS21 doesn't have. Has anyone built a panel cutting jig for the BTS21 that works? I tried, and it works to a point, but it's still not quite precise enough for what I need. Any tips would be appreciated. I'm also assuming that a mitre slot table attachment is not available for the saw. Thanks.
    rxvii
    As Sir Isaac Newton replied in answer to an important question, "Chickens at rest tend to stay at rest; chickens in motion tend to cross the road!"
  • Bill in Buena Park
    Veteran Member
    • Nov 2007
    • Buena Park, CA
    • CM 21829

RX,
    Welcome to the forum!

I think our user DBHOST has/had a BTS21, and not sure how he worked a panel sled or Miter Slot Table (MST). You might be able to buy a MST for the BT3x and modify to fit your BTS 21 (others who own the aluminum MST can comment on this.) I made my own (as have others) - you can buy Incra miter track for this, and then you can build a panel sled to suit - there are several examples here - user POOLHOUND has this, user CGALLERY has this, and I just made this.

Regards,
    Bill in Buena Park

Comment

• dbhost
      Slow and steady
      • Apr 2008
      • League City, Texas
      • Ryobi BT3100

Originally posted by b0330923
      RX,
      Welcome to the forum!

I think our user DBHOST has/had a BTS21, and not sure how he worked a panel sled or Miter Slot Table (MST). You might be able to buy a MST for the BT3x and modify to fit your BTS 21 (others who own the aluminum MST can comment on this.) I made my own (as have others) - you can buy Incra miter track for this, and then you can build a panel sled to suit - there are several examples here - user POOLHOUND has this, user CGALLERY has this, and I just made this.

Regards,